StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
162 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
After 6K miles, I think it's time to drop the stock tires. Need some advice on what to get next (yes, I'm a noob).

Riding will be 90% street, with the occassional gravel/dirt road thrown in. Right now, I'm looking at the Metzeler Tourance, Bridgestone BT020 and Continental Trail Wing. I'm not a big knee dragger, but I will ride in the rain and I do tend to speed when I am on the slab.

I appreciate any input you experts care to offer. :D

·
Administrator
13,211 Posts
Most peopel will tell you that they really like the tire they bought. few peope have a lot of negatives abotu their tire choice.

I didn't mind the stock tires. I like my Tourance (non EXP) tires better. I liked the Tourance so much that I never tried any other tires and now am on my 6th rear Tourance and my 3rd front Tourance (I have about 112,00 km or about 69,000 miles on my 06 DL650.) Are there better tires? Maybe.. but I'm happy.

I suspect lots of other riders will have similar opinions about the tires they choose.

..Tom

·
Registered
211 Posts
I didn't mind the stock trail wings. When I replaced them a few weeks ago, I put on some Continental trail attacks. So far, I really like them.

I've only had them on gravel a couple of times, and both were well maintained. They did perform very well though.

Lots of good reviews led me to them. Only thing bad I heard about was a few that get a wobble from the front. Conti knows about it and has been replacing the affected tires under warranty.

·
Registered
159 Posts
Coincidentally, I am in need of new tires for my Wee as well (yeah, AND for my car, at the same time -- ugh!).

I have nearly 15,000 miles on my original stock tires. They've been good to me, obviously. I'm told that this is well past what's expected; but I'd mitigate that by admitting that they probably would have been said to need replacing a while before I crossed 14,500.