StromTrooper banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently started riding and got a horrifically yellow 2003 dl1000 for 2300 bucks. It was from a consignment shop in Colorado, buy it before you ride it. 60k on the bike. It was fine for a few weeks and recently I did a quick 2 mile trip with a bunch of stop lights and the radiator over flow hose dumped out a 12” x 12” puddle. It was no hotter out than the previous 2 weeks.

I checked to make sure the fan runs (kicks on between 3-4 bars). I did notice electrical tape on the wiring harness for the fan. I poked the harness and saw a spark. Looks like there’s a red and yellow wire wire that might need to be the culprit…..It’s probably a series of problems but the fan has been running since.

My next step is removing the radiator cap and cleaning the hell out of if. Maybe it’s just a pressure build up in the system? Any other suggestions before I start taking off plastics and getting into a real project before the season ends?

·
Registered
3,252 Posts
Any good radiator shop should be able to do a pressure test on both the radiator and cap. My first step would be, to attempt to solve the mystery of the sparking wire. To me, any sparking wire in the harness or a connector, is a huge concern. Do you have access to a wiring diagram?
WRT the leak, what is the condition of the over-flow hose and hose clamps from the radiator to the over-flow bottle? Is the over-flow bottle filling up when the radiator fluid pressure is too high? As you have already stated, it could simply be a faulty radiator cap. A faulty over-flow hose clamp or pipe could also be the cause of the leak. Abnormal radiator temp could translate to a faulty thermostat. There have been a few threads on the water pump weep hole discharge.
Normally the operating temperature of your Vee should be below 3 temp bars. The fan should kick in after the temp reading is 3 or more bars.