StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone,

I'm a 42 year old novice rider from NYC with a penchant for snowbirding. I got my endorsement a few years ago and rode for just a couple of seasons. I started on a little GS500F which was a sweet little bike, but quickly 'upgraded' to a Monster 696. What a mistake that was. Unlike my tame little 496cc Suzuki twin, the 696 was a beast! Bucking and lunging. Unforgiving as ever. I sold the bike after just one season. One thing I did appreciate about the Monster (in contrast to the GS) was its relative power. The character of the bike scared me, but it went from total standstill to highway speeds in mere seconds (or what felt like it to me). I loved that. The ease with which that motorcycle built speed inspired a certain confidence which as a new (and not particularly gifted) rider I very much sought.