StromTrooper banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
DL650K5 For those that have done yours --Roughly how much time does it take? This will be my first time and holding a tech day but wondering how much should I plan for it - I may delay that actual portion as I'm planning on riding in mid afternoon. I've bought all the equipment, have the hard copy service manual , printed out notes from the maintence section, bought a shim kit, micrometer, feelers, and whatnot. i'm thinking 4 hrs. I've never done this type of service before. Your experiences??

·
FORUM GODFATHER.....R.I.P. PAT
38,103 Posts
It will depend on whether you need to install shims or not and how many camshafts have to come out. I would set aside a full day for a first attempt.

·
Registered
1,013 Posts
It's not terribly difficult. Intimidating? Yes, but the work isn't that difficult.

If I'd had the shims I needed on hand, and if I had applied enough sealant to get the valve cover gaskets to seal, mine would have taken about 6 hours. Because of the afore-mentioned issues, and the fact that I couldn't get the throttle bodies balanced on my homemade manometer (too short to support the HUGE imbalance I had) afterwards while synching the throttle bodies, it took me three days to get the job done and the bike buttoned back up.

The first time is a little intimidating. Subsequent attempts will surely be much better. I'd say 4 hours for just the valve check/adjustment.

·
Registered
2,570 Posts
yeah. definitely set aside an entire day if it is your first go at it. There is a lot of dismantling and reinstalling that eats up time rather quickly. I could probably do one in a couple of hours now, but I've also done it about 4 times on various bikes.

@gijoecam