StromTrooper banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
499 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I follow the owner’s manual for chain tensioning, but it does not say just how much pressure one should apply to the chain to measure the chain tension. It seems the chain has some “give” so I can easily measure 1” of slack with some force applied up and down with one finger, so maybe that’s good, but it feels kind of tight to me even in the rest position.

Thanks for your advice, 20 year Harley rider, so I am new to this chain thing...

·
Registered
834 Posts
I measure it near the front of the rear tire which is about half way between the sprockets with either a tape measure standing up from the floor, or a ruler pressed against the tire in a vertical orientation. Regarding the amount of force, I press about hard enough to bruise a fresh tomato (how’s that for a reference!?). You can press harder, but the measurement won’t increase by a significant amount.

I measure the maximum amount of deflection at the top of the chain from pressing down on it to pressing up on it.

Notice the link to similar threads below this thread. They may explain it better there.

Reactions: Brockie and Motor7

·
Registered
499 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Kd70qc, thank you. I don’t see linked threads? All, sorry, just noticed the tech section where this should have been posted.

·
Registered
3,939 Posts
I would say maybe 5 pounds. To where tension just starts to be felt, plus a little more, to settle the chain into all the sprocket teeth. I adjust chains to between 1.2 and 1.5 inches.

·
Registered
15,221 Posts
I use my foot, Can you lift the chain slack 1-1 1/2 inch? Slack is just that, the loose amount that allows the swingarm to do its thing without the chain getting tight.
There may be a slight difference if the bike is on the side stand or the center stand.
Looser is better than tight.

·
Registered
740 Posts