StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
735 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was reading another thread where someone was looking for advice on a first bike, and I began thinking about how important my first bike was in sparking my motorcycling passion.

Before I started riding, I had almost no mechanical experience. One of the stipulations I agreed to for spousal support of my first bike was that I had to do all the maintenance and repairs on my own. Having a bike that was reliable and relatively easy to work on (and hard to **** up), was crucial, so I spent a lot of time on various MC forums seeking advice. This provided me with a short list of models when the time came to actually acquire a bike.

I settled on a 1983 Honda Nighthawk 550, which I owned and rode for 5 years. It was a great choice, because -- even though it was never pristine -- it always started and never stranded me on the side of the road. When things did go wrong with it (as should be expected on a bike that rolled off the assembly line when I was in high school) I was always able to fix it despite my very limited mechanical skills. Key to that ability was an active, supportive online community (shout out to Nighthawk-Forums.com) that got me through it all.

I think back and wonder what would have happened if I'd ended up with a problematic bike, one that was harder to work on, or something that was less forgiving of my my wrenching skills. In all likliehood, it would have sat in the garage, not running and gathering dust, until I sold it off out of frustration. And I would have never developed this love for riding on two wheels.

What was your experience with your first bike like?

·
Premium Member
853 Posts