StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
934 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just got back from a trip to the BRP and I found I really sucked in the twisites.
I didn't do anything dramatic like drive off the road and I think I may have only crossed a double yellow once. But I found myself straightening up and having to hit the brakes to often and taking shitty lines into corners and have to pick another line halfway through. I've been riding for 15 years and by riding I mean 3-5 per week pretty easy. So I wouldn't call my self a newb. But I'd say 90% of my riding is city commuting stop and go type stuff or dirtbiking. So roads and rides like the BRP and dragon are pretty new to me. I also live in the low county so hills and curves are pretty sparse. So how do I improve my riding and cornering in a place where the roads and straight for the most part?

Dom

·
Registered
2,428 Posts
I strongly recommend you take the MSF advanced rider course. I thought I could ride pretty well until I took the ERC (experienced rider course). I really learned a lot from that course.

Do you know about counter steering--push left to go left/push right to go right? Pushing on the inside of the handgrips. Makes turning a lot easier and safer. Also, try shifting your weight to the inside do a curve. You see the racers do that in an exaggerated manner on the race course. It's also important to carry a little throttle to help keep the bike balanced through a curve.

·
Premium Member
2,231 Posts
While the MSF experienced rider course is good practice, it's mostly just a review of all but the most basic parts of the beginning rider course, and it won't help much with riding at speed. Skip it and take a Total Control course instead if you can, or at least read the book and practice the exercises in it. One of the important topics addressed is fear, and how to learn to trust the bike. It made a huge difference for me.
Total Control Advanced Riding Clinic