StromTrooper banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
254 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,
I am very close to buying v-strom 650 xt but wonder how strong frame is and other parts when bike is dropped etc. I do a lot of off-road and I don't treat bike nice if you know what I mean ;) I'd rather have steel frame not alloy but what to do. If I google bmw gs broken frames a I see a lot of scary pics, how about this bike? looks like stronger, couldn't find any case of broken frame :)

·
FORUM GODFATHER.....R.I.P. PAT
38,047 Posts
I've been haunting V-Strom forums since early 2006 and haven't seen such a problem from an off road drop. Damage to plastics is more like it.

·
Registered
14,218 Posts
I had a rather big crash that took out the saddle bags, top box and the headlight assy and mounting bracket. I had scratches on the crash bars. No frame or fork damage is noticeable. I crashed 3-4 years and many thousands of mile ago.
Bike is fine but a bit tattered. Stuff like the torn off foot peg and bent, broken clutch and brake handles are sacrificial. Easily replaced. This was not a low speed fall over. It was a 55 mph run off the road into the ditch kinda excursion.
I hate when that happens.

·
Registered
254 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I had a rather big crash that took out the saddle bags, top box and the headlight assy and mounting bracket. I had scratches on the crash bars. No frame or fork damage is noticeable. I crashed 3-4 years and many thousands of mile ago.
Bike is fine but a bit tattered. Stuff like the torn off foot peg and bent, broken clutch and brake handles are sacrificial. Easily replaced. This was not a low speed fall over. It was a 55 mph run off the road into the ditch kinda excursion.
I hate when that happens.
thanks, it's encouraging. Was any of the crash related to v-strom handling or just rider error?

·
Registered
14,218 Posts
"Was any of the crash related to v-strom handling or just rider error?"