StromTrooper banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have an 05 1000 Strom and it has a high pitched whine (almost a squeal) that appears to be electrical related. If I turn on my handwarmers or even hit the brake (so the brake light comes on) it almost always goes away. As soon as I release the break or turn off the electrical load, it returns. This very annoying sound can be heard at idle or even when riding at lower speeds. It probably is there at higher revs but harder to hear due to the other sounds drowning it out. Not sure if it's just annoying or the first stage of something bigger. Anyone have a similar issue or knowledge of what is causing this?

Thanks

·
Premium Member
4,183 Posts
I'm new to these bikes, but can you pinpoint an area it is coming from?

Does it sound the same as when the key is first turned on and the fuel injection starts? or something else?

Does it change if you pull the seat off, or any of the covers? Is it louder on one side of the bike or the other?

When did it start? Have you added anything new lately? Pulled the tank off? Could there be a shorted wire someplace?

Sounds like you need to investigate further to troubleshoot it.

·
Registered
1,571 Posts
There is a chance your high pressure fuel filter is plugged, and you are hearing the pump strain or the relief valve wining. The 1000 has a gear driven valve train which can make a wine. One other thing. Disconnect your horn to confirm it is not the culprit.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Although I did get a laugh from the Deliverance part, I was hoping for something a little more, uh, helpful.