StromTrooper banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
05 650, 85k miles/136k k’s
Cleaned the tank and installed New fuel pump ( because it needed a new fuel pump, not because I thought it would fix this issue, this wasn’t an issue yet) and it ran perfect for 500miles/ 800k’s
Now it starts to hesitate and stutter around 5500-6000rpms, and gets worse at lower rpms as I continue,
By the time I got home 4300 rpms was the bests it would do. Any ideas where to start looking?
please explain things like your talking to a 10 year old. This is my very first bike and I’m still learning the lingo!
PS clever stabs and insults are welcomed, just make sure they don’t suck! 👍

·
Registered
3,058 Posts
Well how did you determine it needed a new pump and what exactly did you replace? The whole pump assembly (including pressure regulator and filter) or just the pump itself?

The symptoms fit a progressively blocked high pressure fuel filter (the one that is integral inside the pump assembly).

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Well how did you determine it needed a new pump and what exactly did you replace? The whole pump assembly (including pressure regulator and filter) or just the pump itself?

The symptoms fit a progressively blocked high pressure fuel filter (the one that is integral inside the pump assembly).
Pitiful flow rate, it would rev to 5k and fall suddenly

·
Registered
1,537 Posts
Pitiful flow rate, it would rev to 5k and fall suddenly
That's also a symptom of blocked filters, the high pressure one in particular.

·
Registered
503 Posts
I had a car that would not rev past a certain rpm, in any gear. Sometimes it did a little better, sometimes worse. Drove around like this for months (Sometimes only able to do 30mph uphill) until I figured out that the $5 fuel filter was clogged. Fuel flow and rpm are pretty closely related.

·
Registered
3,624 Posts
Sounds just like my v2, there was nothing wrong with the pump just bad fuel.