StromTrooper banner

Help with determining bike's value

1885 Views 23 Replies 12 Participants Last post by  John V Strom, Jr.
My Wee has been declared a total loss by my insurance company and they made their first offer last night. I've never done this before, but I feel it's on the low side.

The bike has 38,xxx miles, was in generally good shape before the accident (not pristine, but clean) and the farkles include:

SW Motech Centerstand
Givi PL532 Side racks
Madstad Bracket
Stebel Horn and mount
Eastern Beaver Single horn relay
Superbrace Fork Brace
Bestem 929 Top Case
Hotgrips heated grips
Radiator Guard
Seahorse SE-720 side cases
Cortech gas cap mount ring for tank bag
OEM handguards

They offered me just under $3,000 with a buy back option of $1100. They go by the NADA guide which has a low retail of $3,841 with a couple of the above farkles added. High retail for the base bike (with normal mileage) is $4,475.

So basically, they are offering me $3,000. I don't think I could replace this bike for that. I am thinking $4,000. Is this too high? Any opinions on what the fair market value of my bike would be? I'd appreciate any input as they'll likely be calling me back this evening.

Thanks,
John
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

· Registered
79 Posts
Given the mileage, i'd say they are fairly close. Try to get them up $500-1000. You don't have to accept their offer. However, your bike is probably sitting in a salvage yard right now, so you're most likely stuck in negotiating. NADA and KBB only go so far in negotiating. The bottom line is this. How much would you have to pay in your local area for a bike comparable to yours. That's the number you should be shooting for. If a similarly equipped bike goes for $4500.00 in your area, then take that to the claims dept, and tell them that is what you need to replace your bike.

Also, $1100.00 buy back seems like a hell of a steal. How messed up is the bike?

Lucas

· Registered
557 Posts