StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Dear Stromtroopers,
I am considering purchasing a Vstrom 1000 and I would like to hear your opinion!
First a little bit about myself: I'm a PhD student living in Southern California, grew up in Italy riding Aprilia crotch rockets. A couple years ago while travelling through Arizona I bought a 1977 KZ400, a UJM was pretty much all I could afford on a grad student salary so I bought it. I have been working on it ever since and even though I am pretty happy with the results I am growing tired of spending all my time wrenching and not riding. Also I now realize that a straight twin 400 from the 70's is not the best bike to deal with high-speed freeway riding here in SoCal.
Recently I decided that I really need a bike I can trust for any kind of riding, and I need this bike to be cheap given my limited budget. The Vstrom caught my attention because it seems an extremely capable bike, reliable, and probably under-appreciated in the used motorcycle market (good luck purchasing a UJM, a Ducati or a Triumph in the hipster driven market here in SoCal!)

So here is the summary:

• I need a bike that I can commute everyday with, 10 minutes of freeway riding.
  • Good for weekend getaways where I might right 2 up with my girlfriend (Sequoia, Joshua Tree, Pacific Coast Highway!).
  • Capable of light offroading to go bike-camping.
  • Reliable enough so that I can just deal with regular maintenance and NOT spend all my time fixing stuff as I am doing with the 70s KZ (I am a pretty capable mechanic, I can fabricate, machine stuff too but I am TIRED of fixing things).
  • Able to take me on a Pacific Northwest trip that I am planning to take after my graduation.
  • CHEAP. I think my budget's upper limit right now would be $3500, but the cheaper the better.