StromTrooper banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to motorcycles and picked up a 2012 650 Vstrom with 10K on it. It has a noticeable 'clunk' noise going from neutral to 1st. Is there an adjustment I can make to correct this or should I take it to a mechanic?

If it matters, I noticed this when it was stationary, but not when riding. But, I was completely focused on learning to ride this bike, so it's possible it was doing it then and I just didn't notice it. I can check that out in my next ride if that matters.

I tried searching the forums here, but couldn't find anything.

All help appreciated!

·
Registered
2,731 Posts
Welcome to the forum!

"They all do this" … but in this case it's true!

When you pull in the clutch there is still drag between the plates so the tranny input shaft is not stationary. Thus shifting it into 1st gear (that is stationary) there will be a noise when the two meet. Most pronounced when you start cold in the morning (more drag of the clutch). You can avoid that first loud clunk by starting the engine in gear with the clutch pulled in. The bike will want to inch forward a little under those conditions.

Best is to wear earplugs and not worry about this but focus on ATGATT and defensive driving watching the cars, they are out to get you.

·
Premium Member
1,239 Posts
Normal. At a stop light I'll pull the clutch in a little early to reduce the engagement when I finally put it in gear.

Drive it, love it, and it will love you back!

·
Registered
134 Posts
Once the engine is warm do all your starts in gear with the clutch in, the warm oil will mean the clutch plates are quite free and there is no creep when you hit the starter button.
Funny thing is my bike will often go into first from neutral on a cold start without the slightest clunk but mostly it clunks on a cold start.

·
Registered
208 Posts
Check your chain to make sure it's not too tight.

Too tight a chain will cause more of a clunk.