StromTrooper banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My first post on here, but have been learning a ton from all the great members the last year or so. Just purchased a 2004 DL1000 a few months back in Texas that had been wrecked. As I travel there for work, I have been able to fix it up in my spare time(my cousin lives there, so he provided the garage and time to help). I flew there several weeks ago, and took 5 days to ride it back along secondary roads to Wisconsin. I have had many bikes since I started riding 40 years ago, and I must say that this is my favorite so far. After reading many posts on here, I added the axle spacer and fork brace while I was fixing her up. Also added the madstad bracket and windshield. Still some farkles I plan on adding, but my CFO(read wife) has nixed them for the time being. I guess the only thing that does bother me, is the hiccup at the 2800 rpm range. I can live with that though. Anyway, just want to say HI, and thanks to all those who contribute to this great forum. Here are some pictures from my ride back from TX.

Attachments

·
Registered
81 Posts
Ill be the first , Welcome aboard looks like a fine ride . Sound like a long ride , that's the best way to get to know the bike,plus the secondary roads are the way to go. What part of Wiisonsin are you from?

Welcome

·
Registered
859 Posts
3drchr
Welcome to the site. The SW corner of Wi is beautiful, not unlike the Ozarks. My wife and I stayed in Port Byron a couple nights in this hippy little trailer park along the Miss. Caught some drag racing at Cordova and made our way north along the river. Love the historic towns and casual driving. Hope you enjoy your V.

·
Registered
817 Posts
congrats and welcome. a power commander will smooth out that hiccup. they come up for sale every once on a while.