StromTrooper banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
268 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My name is Adam and I am new to the whole motorcycle scene. The owner fo this site knows me from races at the Action Track (hey!). I am taking the motorcycle riding class at the local college this fall (ISU). What I was wondering what kind of bike should I start out with. What I know I want so far is something cheap and used because I have never set foot on a bike before (I have sat on my friends Sportster and plan on getting one in a couple years). I have been looking at anything from a 250cc cruiser to a 500cc sport bike (GZ250, Vstar250, and a GS500). I don't know if the 250 would be too small for me. I am about 6 1 and weigh about 250. Anyway, can't wait until next spring to have 2 wheels to ride myself.

·
Registered
2,164 Posts
DL650 VStrom. Great 1st bike, and it's got more than enough power to pull your body weight (I'm not that much smaller than you!).

Just be respectful of the potential in the throttle. Fool with the throttle and it will get you to 100 very quickly. Learn safely and wisely. No matter the motorcycle, it is more bike than anything you've done before.

A 600cc sport bike is too much engine for many first timers. A 650cc VStrom is much tamer, kinder, and gentler. And will serve you well for years to come. And is much more practical and versatile, both fun and utilitarian. Also very economical, comfortable for your 6'1" body, and dead-on reliable.

·
Registered
550 Posts
My first bike was an older GS500 (the naked version) and it was a great first bike. It had enough power to haul me around as fast as I wanted to go and I'm 6'2" and about 225lbs. My wife and I even took some short 2 up trips with the bike and it did just fine. The seating position is in between a pure sport bike and standard and the comfort level for me was just okay.

HOWEVER . . . . If I knew then what I know now, the Wee would've been a possibility for a first bike.