StromTrooper banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey All,

Advice on heated grips for a new V-strom 650 please (or re-direct)

Suzuki or aftermarket?

Thanks much,

BW

·
FORUM GODFATHER.....R.I.P. PAT
38,103 Posts
Suzuki's are overpriced and tend to have problems. Oxfords are good now that the controller has been upgraded but I'd run them off a fuse block rather than direct to the battery. I mentioned using a wrap around like Symtec for ATVs that has the same heat level on each side and putting Grip Puppies over them. My gloves have plastic sliders that tear up Grip Puppies now though. I think I would go with HotGrips and a Warm and Safe Heat Troller like my present bike.

·
Registered
3,437 Posts
The previous owner put Hotgrips on my bike, but I notice the rubber is very soft. When I started riding it in March, the grips already had quite a bit of rubber missing and when I tried to put a Cramp Buster on in June, it took the grip material off and exposed the element. I don't know how old they are and how much previous use they've had, but I just ordered in a set of the Oxford's Sport version. They look like they will be more durable, but I don't know.

·
38,103 Posts

·
Registered
3,624 Posts
I use these Symtec heaters, and I've installed several sets for friends. Love 'em.

Symtec Motorcycle Grip Heater Kit w/round rocker switch - Motorcycle Parts and Accessories for the Sport Touring Enthusiast at Motorcycle Accessories from California Sport Touring, Inc.

I have a set of Hot Grips on my GS850, and I don't really like them -- the Symtecs are a bit warmer and I can use whatever grips I like instead of being stuck with the hard rubber. Plus, the Hot Grips are at least twice as expensive, and the wiring is messy since you have to find someplace for the stupid resistor... :furious:

·
Registered
152 Posts
I use these Symtec heaters, and I've installed several sets for friends. Love 'em.