StromTrooper banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
575 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
so I've been riding for a few years... put down a good 200,000 miles on various motorcycles, thinking i'd like to refine my canyon riding skills somewhere where i'm less likely to fly off a cliff into oblivion if I push things too far.

So, I want to go down to buttonwillow raceway for a track day, and i'm wondering if I will look like an idiot on my wee strom, and two will I be more likely to get hurt on it due to it being a duck out of water.

the bike is basically stock with a few cosmetic exceptions and stiffer front springs, and a dl1000 shock on the back. I run street tires, conti road attack rear and pilot roads in the front.

·
Living the Stereotype
11,544 Posts
Garandman has, there may be others. He's since purchased a dedicated trackbike in an SV650.

·
Registered
31 Posts
I'd either rent a bike with one of the track day organizations or just buy an inexpensive 1st gen SV650 and modify as needed to meet track day duties.

Coming off a modified SV650 to my Wee, it's a very different ride in the corners. I'm pretty sure if I rode as I usually did on my SV, I'd be scraping the peg feelers even more than the previous owner did.

·
Registered
575 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Yea not ready to pull the trigger on getting a second bike just yet... I have my eyes on an aprilia futura or a honda vfr800, but thats a ways off...

I just want to spend a weekend and a couple hundred bucks or less having a little fun, and learning a bit more about how to really push a bike to the limit in a bit safer of an environment.

·
Premium Member
4,199 Posts
Just do it.