StromTrooper banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a general ride-ability question. I am new to the DL650 having just purchased a 2008 model. I have downsized from a GL1800 Goldwing. What do you consider minimum rpm to keep the engine above when riding? My older Japanese bikes much like life below 3000 rpm or they would lug. The v strom seems to do better but is it a good idea to let it go below 3k? Thanks. Benny

·
Registered
96 Posts
I don't know about good idea or not, but my 2015 650 really likes 5000+, and seems to lug below about 4000. I can't imagine riding below 4000 at anything over about 35 mph. If you keep the revs up, the bike is much livelier.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
That’s what I am finding as I get used to the strom. I find myself keeping it at about 4K or above. Thanks

·
Registered
238 Posts
it's a twin, needs some rpm to smooth everything out, unlike the fours and sixes.

·
Registered
4,029 Posts
Gen 1 (What you have) needed about 5k to be happy. Gen 2 is O.K. at lower revs. It really doesn't matter much as long as it's not shuddering.

Ignore the rpm/speed table in the owners manual, that's a joke ;)

·
Registered
944 Posts