StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Have been looking at the Givi PL3101 pannier racks and the Kappa 33 litre panniers which look to be one of the narrowest set ups i can find.The racks look quite neat ? but just wondered if anybody might have any other suggestions before i go ahead and buy,are there any racks made that can be taken off quickly when not in use.

·
FORUM GODFATHER.....R.I.P. PAT
38,048 Posts
The Givi PLR3101 is a rapid release mount. I have no personal experience with it. I have the SW-MOTECH Quick-Lock Sidecarrier (Suzuki DL650 V-Strom, '12-) Evo Style for Givi, TraX ALU-BOX, & Krauser sidecases. One of the mount connections does not line up properly. I had to elongate a hole on one of the tabs and extend a spacer to get it to fit. With that done, the quick release system works well.

·
Registered
269 Posts
Pat, I got on twistedthrottle.com to look for side racks for my GIVI (E36) bags. Didn't see any GIVI, only the SW-Mototech ones you mentioned. I noticed the new racks had 4 attachment points at each corner (plus the top lock lock, I assume) on each rectangular piece rather than the two at the bottom corners plus top lock on the racks on my 2007 Wee.

There was a "hard bolt kit" for $50 and a GIVI/Kappa Monokey something for $26. What is the former for and is the latter what converts the four corner attachment system to the bottom two attachment system on my present bags?

Man they are expensive-$360! Does anyone know if GIVI is making racks for the GLEE yet?

TIA Ian, Iowa

·
38,048 Posts
The SW-M just moved the top front connection to the passenger footpeg area for the Glee so both front connections are down low at the top and bottom of the passenger footpeg hanger.

The hard bolt kit replaces the quick locks and the $26 kit provides the hangers for the racks specific to Givi Monokey luggage. There are kits for several luggage manufacturers.

Givi has two racks, one permanent and one removable.