StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey there everybody!

New member here, and I'm in a bit of a pickle. I've read so much, looked at so many Youtube videos and contemplated / compared so much that my head's about to fall off, and I'd like for some help.

First of all, I'm a newbie. Got my license in October (for motorcycles that is). I had a Transalp 650 back then, but I realized that I just don't fit right on it. I'm between 6'3 and 6'4 (192cm's), and I weigh about 264-275 pounds (120-130kg's).

A month ago I (rather impulsively, thanks to myself and ADHD) traded in my Transalp for a CBF1000FA, thinking it was a better fit. Of course, as I've learned over these couple of weeks, it's not. At all. My problem is that I've got an old injury, which is a herniated disc in my lower back. The CBF absolutely kills my right shoulder and lower back.

Now to the point. I need something comfortable, fun and affordable to explore with. I love exploring, and I'm not a huge fan of the mind-crushing torque and power of the 1000cc CBF that I currently own. Still haven't even cranked it full throttle yet, because it gives me quite a death-scare (is that even a word..?)

So, I tested a 2012 DL650 (a "Wee"?) the other day. It's not fully equipped, but it was so nice to ride. It was hungry for corners, it had a really quick and nice acceleration, and it was comfortable. My question to you guys is:

Is 5158 dollars a good price for a 2012 Wee with a topbox and heated grips? It's run 33k km's (20505 US miles) and it felt and looks great.

Is the 650 "enough" for a guy my size? I keep telling myself I shouldn't be riding a 1000cc because of my impulsiveness, and that frankly, I can't (and don't want to) die like an idiot because of some adrenalin rush. I've got 2 baby girls, I'm not planning on leaving them and my wife.

I'm also going to test a Vee tomorrow, just to see what it actually handles like, for reference sake.