StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 55 Posts

·
Premium Member
134 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
K, so I'm pretty hellbent on getting a GPS this summer. I have one in my phone, it's cute, I can see the possibilities. We (the royal we) have a new car this summer that I ordered without the GPS headunit.

I'm pretty strongly considering the Garmin Nuvi 650, which has great reviews. It's not waterproof, however, and doesn't come with a bike mount - but it's cheap. I'm also considering the Garmin Zumo 550, which is TWICE as much dough, and will suck up all my Amex Membership Miles.

I've never used a GPS on my bike before, but I have the dash shelf installed, which is pretty weather protected. I will prob use the GPS once or twice a year on the bike, in the car once or twice a month. SO: The Question, am I on CRACK to think I can get a non waterproof GPS system and ride with it? Can I just suction cup the GPS to the dash, or is that a crazy idea and should I pony up the Amex Membership Miles for the Zumo, a unit that's 1 1/2 years old now? Is the Zumo up to date? When CNET reviewed it they said the unit had out of date POI in Feb 2007! Is it worth the dough?

·
Premium Member
4,198 Posts
The Zumo is great for motorcycles.

But the Nuvi 260 is a heck of a good gps for $230. I've used them in the map pocket of my tank bag in rain. A Zip Loc bag seems to work as well. There's a $20 bike handlebar mount you could use as well.

·
Registered
376 Posts
I use a Garmin Nuvi 750 in a RAM mount on my DL1000. It has got pretty damp sometimes, but still works OK. The cigarette adapter is pass through (no voltage conversion), and the cable has a red and black wire inside that can connect to battery power. It has a bigger screen then the Zumo. If the Nuvi doesn't last, I can replace it twice for the price of the Zumo - and with the recent price drops in GPS, even if it only lasts a year - GPS' will be even less money a year from now....

·
What Kinda Bike Is That?
5,520 Posts