StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the DL1000A having come off a 2009 DL650 (my second DL650). On the 650s, your knees were on plastic below the metal tank. With the 1000A, they are squarely on the painted tank (what little painted tank actually shows). I ride on dirt roads in Vermont and the tanks is showing signs of wear and scratching after only a few 100 miles. Poor design or bad decision making on my part not to protect the tank before my first ride?

Anyone else experiencing this problem?

·
Registered
611 Posts
I am new to the DL1000A having come off a 2009 DL650 (my second DL650). On the 650s, your knees were on plastic below the metal tank. With the 1000A, they are squarely on the painted tank (what little painted tank actually shows). I ride on dirt roads in Vermont and the tanks is showing signs of wear and scratching after only a few 100 miles. Poor design or bad decision making on my part not to protect the tank before my first ride?

Anyone else experiencing this problem?
Been discussed. I use Techspec gripsters

http://www.amazon.com/TechSpec-62-3010-SS-Snake-Skin-Tank/dp/B00YZCVVYI

Others have come up with cheaper solutions but I put on the grip pads more for performance than protection anyway...

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
125 Posts
Been discussed. I use Techspec gripsters

Amazon.com: TechSpec 62-3010-SS Snake Skin Tank Grip: Automotive

Others have come up with cheaper solutions but I put on the grip pads more for performance than protection anyway...
They look like a good idea. How do they attach? I have previously cut some pads from magnetic sign material from a sign shop. Just make a pattern, trace and cut. The nice thing about magnetic ones is that they can be easily removed, cleaned and replaced.

·
Registered
611 Posts
They have a glue that is industrial, but can be removed

Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
5,026 Posts