StromTrooper banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Just purchased my first street bike, haven't ridden since I was 12, I'm 41 now. Well, just bought a 2008 Vstrom dl650 with abs but it does have around 48k miles on it already and the guy I bought it from gave me a good deal at 3k but I also had to wait for him to take it on a trip and then he flew out of the state after I bought it....hehe! My issue is it seems like the chain makes some noises when I hit the throttle as well as another noice under the tank, not sure if its just the shocks making the noise or the front sprocket area. I'm a newbie not to mention I've never even changed oil in a car before if you get my drift. Also notice scraping noises when I walk the bike and turn the bars to the right, noise is coming from the front tires, possibly the brakes.

·
Registered
490 Posts
There is a clunk in the forks when you hit a bump - ignore it. Check the alignment of the chain, the condition (any kinking, lots of rust, etc.?), condition of the sprockets (hooking, worn teeth, etc.). Scraping noise could be pads dragging - are the rotors scored at all? It shoud do it regardless of whether the bars are turned or not though.

I just looked at the photos you posted - the bike looks in very good shape from the 2 pics.

Good luck and congratulations!

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Looking over the previous owners records he had the chain and sprocket replaced about 16k miles ago. Maybe I should just have them replaced. Hey, at least the previous owner put brand new tires on it for me.

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I'm going to ride the bike today, kinda worried about the noises I hear when I hit the gas and lay off the gas. Chain must be out of whack. Been real busy lately but I want to put some time in on the bike. Will be taking a course next month too.

·
Registered
84 Posts