Strom Trooper banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,
I started riding in early 2016, and bought the 2007 Wee in June of that year. Used her as a daily driver/commuter ever since, and I'm up to 15k miles this month! Goddamn I love that bike.

I've surfed the forums searching for an answer, and think I have it, but want to confirm with y'all before I pull the trigger on the fix/replacement.

I've dropped my bike a few times, at slow-speed or no-speed, and no crashes, thankfully. But, I moved last year, and have had the strangest thing happening to me ever since. When I hit the starter, it sounds a bit like a modem connecting, where it used to be a flat, static sound. Additionally, above 75~80mph, I start getting deadband at the top of the throttle. I thought this was just the way of life, but never thought they could be related.

I've looked around and asked buddies about what that top deadband could be. I tried readjusting the throttle cables, tried using some fuel filter cleaner, etc.

But it only occurred to me this week that I didn't try replacing the fuel pump. When I flip on the pump before hitting the ignition it now always does the modem noise. Granted, it's been 6k miles since that fall, so it's clearly not a usability issue, only performance. But I'm starting to think that this is the most obvious, and likely culprit, given it sounds funny before I hit ignition, and the sound persists after I've started the engine.