StromTrooper banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings, inmates. I am a transfer from VFRD (don't worry, I'm low security, no mess), looking for some insight.

I've been riding for about four years, first on a Nighthawk, then on my darling Fluffer, my beautiful RWB 1st Gen VFR700. I love that bike. She does not love me; she's cramped, tight, finicky as only an 80s bike can be, and do I ever LOATHE maintaining that rack of carbs. It's not that they're hard, it's just that I'm an EFI sort of guy. Four carbs and tight spaces make for an unhappy wrenchmonkey. I put 12k on my Nighthawk my first year riding; unless it was POURING or there was ice, I took that bike everywhere. I think I'm up to a cumulative 30k in my four years now.

My girlfriend brought up the possibility of riding with me sometime; my Fluffer will not be suitable for that in the least. She barely carries my 6'3", long-legged frame with any sort of comfort. My ladyfriend is not a member of the "petite elite" club, and she has long legs on her too, so my trusty old Nighthawk won't be a great fit either.

I've toyed with getting a Wee for some time now, or the much cheaper and near omnipresent SV. With the added bonus of lady riding times (we're going to go shopping post-Christmas for a helmet and gloves, and I'm open to suggestions for inexpensive jacket sources aside from the usual CL/Ebay) I'm adding onto my search criteria, newly including "must have passenger space comfy enough to not turn my lovely geek off of riding."

We're both what is euphemistically referred to as "under-employed" (I'm a BSEE, she's an MFA Lit) so used is the name of the game, no brand new V2 for me or I wouldn't be posting here in the V-curious section!

Combined we're knocking on 410-420 geared up, and for the forseeable future I don't envision any camping, just mostly day-trips, with possibly a handful of overnight stay-in-hotels travel. My geek is not an outdoors geek, not yet.