StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Last night I picked up my 2014 V-Strom 1000. I've been riding for 4 years but the V-Strom has always been my dream bike. I've had cruisers, classics and sport bikes so the adventure class was the next step. In June I went from a harley road king to a triumph bonneville. While I loved the bonne it should be stated I'm 6'5 and 4 bills. I'm not a tiny man. I looked like a bear on a minibike but that bike made me fall back in love with riding. My local dealer had the Strom with 10k on it listed for 8000. My dream bike in a reasonable price range from my local guys was too good to let pass. I road this bike home. A bike I could finally fit on and I couldn't stop smiling. This is the bike I've been looking for. My wife and I are planning a 4000 mile road trip next year for our honeymoon. I'm a food blogger and a barbecue lover so it'll be through the south to get as much knowledge of the food as I can and this bike is absolutely perfect for this. I'm just in awe at how much I am loving this bike. I can't wait to take it for a nice long ride this weekend.

·
Registered
1,989 Posts
V-Strom was your dream bike, huh? Well it's a great bike but you're quite the simple man I'd say! A big guy like you needs a Gold Wing! Now that's a bike to dream of IMO. But they're your dreams so welcome to the family!

·
Registered
11,528 Posts
V-Stroms have probably put more overweight cruisers into a semi-permanent storage than any other bike. Two guys I ride with who are BMW GS owners both have Harleys gathering dust. Adventure touring is exploding. Great choice!

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I'm 26 and have absolutely no desire to be on a gold wing. this bike is a perfect fit. I can tour on it if I want but I can still take the back roads of my wonderful state of WV and not feel like I'm going to lose the bike in every turn.

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #6