StromTrooper banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1,042 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Does anyone know where else this bolt might be used? I found it wedged between the bottom of the engine and the frame, while doing my 600 mile check. It is an 8 mm bolt with a flange. It looks just like one of the bolts for the luggage rack carrier, but all 4 of them are there. Does not look like it was ever used or installed, judging by the condition of the green loctite on the bolt. I am hoping it was just accidentally dropped and lost during assembly, instead of coming loose from somewhere important. I looked all over with a flashlight and cannot find where it came from. This is my first attempt at attaching pics, so hopefully this will work.

Attachments

·
Registered
3,938 Posts
Looking at the lock-tite, lost during assembly seems likely. It looks like it's never been installed.

Pete

·
Premium Member
2,947 Posts
Check the front fairing bracket-to-frame connection?? I'm not familiar with the size of those bolts, but Greywolf has commented in the past that those bolts come loose time to time???

·
FORUM GODFATHER.....R.I.P. PAT
38,048 Posts
It's not from there. I'll join the never been installed camp.

·
Registered
2,303 Posts
I just looked at mine and could it be the top shock mount bolt? :yikes:

The locktite is all there so it doesn't look like it's been used. I'd still keep looking around though. Or ask the dealer WTH it's for.

·
Premium Member
2,362 Posts
Maybe it's mine!

I lost one of the three bolts that holds on the plastic cover of the front sprocket.

I don't look there often, but perhaps when I was crossing Texas on I-20 in May 2010 ... :yesnod:

Well, no matter. I had an extra one, so you can keep it.

Good luck.
Keith

·
Registered
55 Posts
When you say it's an 8mm bolt, are you accurately describing the thread, or incorrectly describing what size socket fits the head?