StromTrooper banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,231 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
While I had the front wheel off today (replacing fork oil), I noticed one of the brake rotors is showing a fair amount of rotational float. I know they're supposed to, but I can't seem to find any info about how much is too much.

·
Registered
2,275 Posts
While I had the front wheel off today (replacing fork oil), I noticed one of the brake rotors is showing a fair amount of rotational float. I know they're supposed to, but I can't seem to find any info about how much is too much.
I'm not an engineer, but I'm having trouble understanding why floating this way would be desirable. I know the calipers have to move laterally, but I don't see why the rotor would need to rotate forward or back relative to the wheel. Is this "play" simply to allow for expansion due to heat?

·
FORUM GODFATHER.....R.I.P. PAT
38,048 Posts
Since the rotor is not flat a solid attachment to a differing metal especially would cause the rotor to dish rather than stay flat. There isn't a wear limit that I've seen. As long as the movement is axial, it shouldn't be a problem.

·
Premium Member
2,231 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Since the rotor is not flat a solid attachment to a differing metal especially would cause the rotor to dish rather than stay flat. There isn't a wear limit that I've seen. As long as the movement is axial, it shouldn't be a problem.
As I understand it, axial float would be movement along the axis -- perpendicular to the rotation of the wheel -- which of course is the main point of floating disks. I'm concerned about the rotation of the disk in relation to its hub.

·
38,048 Posts