StromTrooper banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just bought a used 2011 dl650a from a dealer 2 days ago. It runs great but has no warranty and the dealer is several hours away. Now the despite (new) battery they just put in, it will not start without a jump. It was starting fine dozens of times over the last two days. I jumped the bike and rode about 45minutes after the first failure just fine but as soon as I turn it off and then try to restart it just tries to turn over once and then whines or clicks each new attempt. It will still start with a jump. I am new to street bikes and have no clue why this is the case can anyone provide some insights? Does the fact that it does not die or loose lights while riding mean it is still charging the battery some?

·
Administrator
Queensland, Australia
7,339 Posts
You first need to find what voltage you do have. A good battery will have about 12.7volts when not running and show 13.5-14volts with the engine running and above idle. Do you have a meter? Many fit a voltmeter to their bike so that they can easily see the system voltage.
If the electrical system checks out next look at the starter switch (RH switchblock), the starter relay, or the large multi connector LH side of the headstock just above the radiator.

Also read this thread: My Bike Won't Start

·
Registered
4,290 Posts
Check your cables a good and tight, jump the bike and check the voltage at the battery with the motor running.

You want to see over 13.5v

There is a big chance the stator has failed and the bike should not have been sold to you in that state if it has.

Reactions: Gert

·
Administrator
Queensland, Australia
7,339 Posts
Lets hope that is not the case as bobcat says that he purchased with no warranty. Different countries have different consumer laws. Can caveat emptor sometimes apply?

·
Registered
863 Posts
Agree with the others. To perform any meaningful troubleshooting we need to know the voltages.