StromTrooper banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I hope this is the right forum, and I apologize now - I am not an electrician so please pardon what I am betting is a dumb question.

I am looking at the Eastern Beaver 3CS for my new bike - plan is to run a GPS, a cigarette socket (probably via a Bags Connect set up) and possibly heated hand grips later on. I want to be able to run an air compressor off the cigarette socket (probably never need it, but want the ability to).

My question is this - given my understanding from the EB site - the 3CS pulls power from the Rear Tail Light - If I was running my GPS, charging my cell phone AND running heated grips, could I blow the fuse for the Rear Tail lights?

Am not sure I am doing a good job of asking my question (mostly because of lack of knowledge on my part!) - basically I would think the source would have an upper limit (regardless of the fuse limits in the 3CS that is driving the accessories) - so is it possible to not overdraw the power/current on the 3 accessories but still overpower the power source?

Or has greater minds than mine already figured this out and I should not be concerned?

TIA,

GG

·
Registered
1,856 Posts
It pulls power directly from the battery/charging system... The tail light power is only used to switch the relay in order to suppy the power to the 3 circuits (as I mentioned earlier is directly from the battery).

Richard

·
Registered
302 Posts
Richard basically covered it- the wire to the light only acts as a trigger to run the relay on.