StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I dropped my 650 today. At idle, not moving. Fell on left side, crash bar and rear case took the brunt of the force. Everything seems fine except my confidence...anything I should pay particular attention to on the bike in the short term??

I'm new at this and I feel like an idiot.

·
Premium Member
4,417 Posts
I dropped my 650 today. At idle, not moving. Fell on left side, crash bar and rear case took the brunt of the force. Everything seems fine except my confidence...anything I should pay particular attention to on the bike in the short term??

New at dropping your bike? Don't worry, you'll get good at it. It's taken me 4 times to perfect it. ;)

The Strom is a pretty tall bike and it can be a tricky one to learn on.

I've got a number of miles on bikes and attribute my Strom tip-overs to my short legs...well that, and my short attention span.

·
Registered
1,903 Posts
If it runs ok, and looks OK its probably only injury is your pride.
Welcome to the club:thumbup:
No more being scared to scratch it:yikes:
Mike

·
Premium Member
2,231 Posts
Probably most of us have done that at one point, or several points. Eventually you'll get used to the top-heaviness, and you'll learn to be conscious of the ground surface when stopped -- dips or holes that mean a longer reach, sand or leaves that will make your foot slip, etc. After I dropped my first strom for the 3rd time, I lowered the bike 3/4" (longer dog bones in the rear and raised the forks in the triple clamps) until I felt more comfortable and confident. Then I raised it back up to normal and have been fine ever since.

·
Registered
988 Posts
You are in good company. The phrase "I've never dropped a bike" should have the modifier "yet" at the end. Over at the Concours forum they have a thread called Connie Droppers Anonymous. At least Stroms don't need a whole gaggle of do-rags and unkempt beards to get it back on its hooves.

·