StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was talking to a Harley friend the other day and we started talking about 'stopping'. I told him I generally down shift through all the gears as I'm approaching a stop sign or red light. He said he pulls in the clutch and coasts/brakes to a stop while shifting into first along the way so that when he stops he knows he's in first. This got me thinking. Is there anything wrong with downshifting through the gears, allowing the engine to slow me down? Do more people do this or use the brakes to come to a stop? I'm rather new to motorcycles but I used to always run through the gears on my old Datsun 310 GX, Mazda 808, and Mazda Protege, before I went 'automatic'.
Thanks for the info.

·
Administrator
17,537 Posts
Brakes are for stopping, and gears are for slowing down.

·
Registered
370 Posts
I downshift and rev out till 2dn. I don't drop it into 1st (no rev out in first) until I'm about to put my left foot down. I think that the MSF class said that is so that you are sure and ready to be in a gear in case you need to gas it and get out of the way of the person on a cell phone.

Revving it out will also help you to save a little brake pad and keep the rotors a tad bit cooler.

It must be a Harley thing to coast and shift, because I got two Harley guys that I ride with every now and then that do that. I think its because the clutch is stiff that their hands would tire out pulling in and releasing the clutch. I guess in a sense you guesstimate what gear you are in so that you can release the clutch and power out if needed.

Neither way is wrong and its just personal taste..

·
Premium Member
1,634 Posts