StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
440 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Heated debate in the household....

I say "no", my (much) better half says "yes" -- 'cause she feels so tired after a 5 hr. ride.

What say you? Anyone know how many calories per hour are burned?

pmk

btw: she's so stoked abour riding pillion that it's hard to get her off the bike! :)

·
Registered
3,316 Posts
All I know is I gained weight when I got back into motorcycles in 07, probably because I stopped hiking, bicycling, etc. as all I wanted to do in my spare time was ride. I don't think too many calories are burned.

·
Registered
588 Posts
I've never lost a pound, in fact, I'f gained weight since I started riding. Not sure why...

(We travel a long way to find new places to eat! That's Nfld moose with fries and gravy in the second one!)

·
Registered
2,017 Posts
If sleep burns calories, I'd imagine sitting on a bike does too. How much? Depends on your metabolism and general health.

Piloting the bike in a spirited ride uses a lot more body and muscles than you would believe, especially on a trail if you're using your body/legs to stabilize the bike...and I imagine a twisty with a lot of leaning off would do much the same.

R

·
0 Posts
Heated debate in the household....

What say you? Anyone know how many calories per hour are burned?

pmk

:)
Burn calories ???
My Goodness, you could fade away while riding. I'm guessing hundreds of calories per hour.
The big issue is "Road Food". Those huge breakfast gnosh-ups replace your deficit before you know it.... and then some.
If you ride and avoid the road side diners, you would be a stick man.

·
Banned
4,057 Posts
Of course vstromming burns calories; have you seen how many threads there are here about people dropping their bikes?
I assume they eventually pick them up too.

·
Registered
813 Posts