StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello team,

Well I`m in Rio Gallegos in South America, the last big town before Ushuaia, I thought the tyres were looking a little worn and wanted to replace them. However, the only place I can find in town is selling Michelin tyres for $1000US for two - CRAZY! This is way outside our price range and I think I`m getting ripped off.

Now it seems the only option is to risk it and keep driving to Buenos Aires, it will be about 4000km more. The back tyre has done at best guess about 8000km, the front we don`t know (but more of course) because we bought the bike second hand with the tyres.

Please help with thoughts, I`ve added photos of the front and back and can give any further details, but any help would be appreciated.

Front

Attachments

·
Registered
223 Posts
Well, I am no tire expert but it would seem to me that the only thing those are good for would be dry/clean road. Anything else, I'd be extra vigilant... especially around tight curves.

As for risk - I'd take it. You still have 'some' life in them.

·
Registered
6,663 Posts
Yes you are being ripped of

Motorcycle Superstore - Search

You have to be your own master.

If I knew the roads were smooth and relatively hazard free I might make a try.

You know the guy is ripping you, but he has an advantage so

HAGGLE offer 475 settle for like 600

Actually the tread thickness on the sides look almost new so twisties NOT the problem

·
Registered
5,458 Posts
Can you make contact with a supplier in BA or other large city and have a pair air-freighted to you? $1000/pr. -- how many Argentinians can afford that? They must have another source.

Also, note that some on this forum have mounted auto tires on the rear of their 'Stroms (search under "dark side"). That might be a cheaper (and sturdier) alternative, too.