StromTrooper banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a total newbie to motorcycles and loving my new(used) K4 DL650. Besides what RPM to run cruiser style vs. highway style, I don't know when my bike is warm enough to ride. How long should I run it before getting on. 1 LED, 2 LEDs ? Or just turn it on and go.

·
Registered
109 Posts
Is it running? It's warm enough to ride :) Seriously with fuel injection as soon as the rpm's settle you are good to go (assuming it's not -20 out, then it may need a few seconds).

·
Registered
371 Posts
If the bike starts, it's ready to ride, no waiting needed.

·
Registered
523 Posts
On cold mornings I give it time to warm up to 1 bar. On sunny summer days - I turn it on before I put on my helmet and gloves. About 30 secs warm-up.

·
Registered
41 Posts
As others have said, it doesn't take much warming up. I usually start mine then put on my helmet and gloves and go. Even that may be more than is necessary.

As for what RPM to run, the longer I have my 650 the higher I tend to rev it. I used to lug around town at 3- 3.5 K but now I try not to run at less than 4k and preferably 4.5 or higher. Some here recommend cruising at 6K; that still seems high to me but maybe I'll come around to their way of thinking eventually.

I'm a total newbie to motorcycles and loving my new(used) K4 DL650. Besides what RPM to run cruiser style vs. highway style, I don't know when my bike is warm enough to ride. How long should I run it before getting on. 1 LED, 2 LEDs ? Or just turn it on and go.

·
Registered
1,096 Posts
30 seconds for the oil to circulate and you are good to go but don't run it too hard until it's up to operating temp. Avoid wide open throttle when the bike is cold. It's the same procedure for any internal combustion engine that you don't want to abuse. But don't lug the engine either as that is harmful too.