StromTrooper banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
132 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Stop me if I'm going to get myself into trouble here.

My bike has no engine problems, but it is getting up there. I only bought it this year and put some basic maintenance and a few thousand miles on it. It maybe burns some oil, nothing too serious. Actually it runs great, but I'm considering going on a very long trip next year, say 10,000 miles.

I can buy a 2007 650 engine complete with throttle bodies, airbox, and wiring harness and other electrical bits, relatively cheaply. I don't know if the engines are compatible, all I know is they changed to a dual spark plug head that year. Wikipedia says the wheelbase has changed, I'm assuming the motor geometry and mounting is not affected...

The problem is that I am no mechanic. I can change a tire and replace sprockets and fork seals, but I've never removed a camshaft, or done a top end... But I can go by the service manual, and it might just be a matter of following instructions. I glanced through it and everything seemed doable... there were some gaskets to replace and some special tools mentioned.

Knowing that it takes me four times as long to do something the first time as the third time, is this something I could do in... Less than 40 hours?

·
Registered
467 Posts
40 hrs of wrenching? - maybe.

But I would budget 40 days of head scratching and searching for those special tools.

Maybe budget 40 beers for getting hands-on advice from someone local who knows what's-what when you need helped out of a bind.

As for if it's possible -- if you take this on, please keep us posted. And take lots of pictures.

·
Registered
69 Posts
The thorttle bodies would be different too. 10,000 miles isn't that much. I would pick up an the extra engine if I were you if I coudl get it for a few hundred

·
Registered
980 Posts