StromTrooper banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
449 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My new to me 03 DL1000 with 35,000 miles is backfiring under deceleration. It sounds as if its coming out of the exhaust and not the airbox. It idles fine and runs strong and has no skip or miss anywhere up thru the rev range. It has a PC III with unknown to me map, and stock exhaust. Im new to the world of the Vee and it almost sounds as if it may have an exhaust leak but im not sure.

·
Registered
386 Posts
Check your boots from your throttle bodies... they can come loose. There's a number of posts with this type of issue where they just needed the clamps/hoses reseated and tightened.

·
Registered
449 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Check your boots from your throttle bodies... they can come loose. There's a number of posts with this type of issue where they just needed the clamps/hoses reseated and tightened.
I have seen that but all those post I read seemed to have had a poor running bike as part of the condition which I do not.

·
Banned
4,057 Posts
Could be normal; I understand the bike is running pretty lean from the factory, but god knows what the previous owner did to the fuel map...
Does it only happen when the bike is hot or all the time?
Can you bring the bike back to stock (i.e.: remove the pc3)?
Exhaust leaks are pretty easy to find: listen around with a garden hose or a piece of vacuum tubing...

·
Registered
542 Posts
I thought backfires were caused by one cylinder still receiving fuel during deceleration. Check your boots and do a TBS.

·
Premium Member
434 Posts
I removed my pair valve, That stopped my back firing and my boot from poping off
Not sure the 03 has one, It just injects air into the pipes to burn any extra gas
mike

·
Registered
449 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
I removed my pair valve, That stopped my back firing and my boot from poping off
Not sure the 03 has one, It just injects air into the pipes to burn any extra gas
mike