StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
217 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,
Before I can start adding accessories to my bike, I need to put a fuse block or distribution block on. I have never done this before so I'm wondering if there is any brand that y'all have found to work great or even some to stay away from.

I intend to put on an Aux power port for charging phones, some driving lights for visibility, add some heated gear, possibly throw my Sirius on for longer trips, and I'm thinking about upgrading the headlights to the HID lights.

So far I've been looking at the following:

I really like this one:
Motorcycle Info Pages - Recommended Stuff :) > FuzeBlocks

I like how you can have any component switched or constant just by moving the fuse. I also like how there's a decent cover for it.

My concern with this one is it's load limit, 10A or less. Is that enough?

This one seems ok:
TwistedThrottle.com : Electrical Connection accessory power distribution plate - EC.02202

Everything is switched though and there's no cover.

This one is meh:
Automotive Fuse Panels From Centech

Has both switched and constant, but limited to a certain amount.

Is there another out there I should look at?

·
FORUM GODFATHER.....R.I.P. PAT
38,104 Posts

·
Registered
7,442 Posts
--You can run items with more than 10 amp draw off the battery--as always, fuse the positive leg.
--I'd avoid the one with the exposed terminals and get one where they are covered by an insulated cover.
--Keep in mind that we want to run the negative leg back to the battery, not bonded to the chassis. A fuse block with a negative section works, or a negative bus wire, or individual wires to the battery negative terminal works.
--Get two longer screws for your battery terminals. That makes it easier when you have more than two ring terminals on the battery terminals.