StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Hmmmmm
1,326 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My background is that I've ridden dirt bikes pretty much from the time I was a teenager. You get pretty used to the feel of sliding around in corners riding off road. The technique was to lay the bike over but keep your weight over center so as you slide the bike you stay balanced. I don't know if that's a great description but you dirt guys know what I mean.

The pavement is so different to me. I find myself cornering on occasion at speeds below 30 mph using the same techniques. Not sure this is the right way to corner, I was following a sport bike one day and he was using the slide your ass off seat technique. I'm not going to do that!

I'm trying to get rid of the 1/2" chicken strip on the rear tire. Looking for some helpful cornering tips.

·
Registered
1,515 Posts
There's no point in leaning your bike further than necessary, while keeping your body upright, in order to scrub the last bit of the tires - you're unlikely to impress anyone. For normal street riding, I'd say keep your body basically centered on the street, or, as I do, you might find it useful to lean to the inside a little. Eventually, if you have enough corners available to practice on, you may start leaning far enough to scrub the whole tire and drag stuff. If that's what you're really after...

·
Registered
2,809 Posts
I wouldn't worry about the chicken strips. Just get out there and ride! The more comfortable you get with the bike, the better you'll feel.

·
Registered
981 Posts
A fun way to get tips is Killboy.com. There are hundreds and hundreds of pictures of motorcyclists riding The Dragon, and lots of commentary on techniques--good and bad.

·
Hmmmmm
1,326 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I wouldn't worry about the chicken strips. Just get out there and ride! The more comfortable you get with the bike, the better you'll feel.