StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
126 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just did the Saddlesore 1k this past Saturday. I can honestly say it wasn't as bad as I expected. The closest comparison I had to 1k miles in a day was maybe 600 or so. That was on my previous sportbike so I was in quite a bit more pain due to the ergonomics of it.

The V-Strom took it like a champ. I added a couple comfort farkles before the ride. I put on a Madstad bracket + Madstad 22" Adventure Screen. I also ordered some highway pegs to clamp onto my crashbars. The new screen made a huge difference. I've never used a tall shield before, and the difference on the highway is amazing. I was iffy on how the clamped on highway pegs would work since they are fairly high up. I put some foam padding over the pegs and rested the back of my legs on top of the pegs for the most part. They worked out very well as I have bad knees and they normally cramp up on short 350 mile rides. Had no issues with my knees on this whole ride.

Also got to use my Camelbak for the first time. Worked great and kept me hydrated. No complaints. My friend had a cheaper version of the Camelbak bladder and he said his tasted like plastic.

I also used my beadrider seat cover over my Suzuki gel seat. Worked out real well as I had no pain in my ass (although the rain we hit was a bit of a pain in the ass) at all. Back of my upper thighs are a bit tender the day after, but not really that bad. I've had much worse on fewer mile days on my last bike.

We left Rochester, NY at 6am, made it to the Kentucky border near Cincinatti at around 3pm (can't remember exactly), and got home at 1am. I'd say we managed our time fairly well and did pretty good considering we haven't really done many long rides this season due to a hectic year.