StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
115 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am waiting for the oil to drian as I type this, I bought the oil, new filter and a compression washer. (at the suggestion of the counter agent)

Does the oil plug come from the factory with a compression washer? There seems to be one, but if it is one it does not seem to want to come off.

Any suggestions?

Would I be safe just putting the plug back in as is?

Rookie questions, but this is my first time through this....

Thanks
DavidLSI

·
0 Posts
The oil drain plug does come with an aluminum crush washer. If your current drain plug has a washer on it and it won't come off, I would just re-use it as is. I have done this for years with no leaks or problems.

Dennis

K

·
0 Posts
Sometimes they conform so well they become stuck on. Gently tap the edge with the blade of a screwdriver and it will pop off.

·
Premium Member
850 Posts
I'm a big fan of replacing the crush washer with every oil change. IMO it is designed to do it's job once. Sometimes it gets crushed to the point that it expands to where it's engaged with the threads of the plug and won't come off. What I do is try to grasp the crush washer at the edges with some small pliers and rotate it off the plug like a nut.

·
Premium Member
230 Posts
Picked up a FRAM oil filter at Walmart PH6018. 6 bucks and change..

·
Registered
115 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
I went with brand specific stuff....

FastEddie said:
I went with the Suzuki filter and oil, spent more but I am still way ahead over what I was spending having the mechanic do it.

The designers seem to have made it as easy as it could be on the V-Strom. I feel like a chump for not trying to do change my own oil before this... :shock: :oops:

It seems, like almost every topic there is many opinions on which oil to use. So I am taking the stick with the Suzuki name theory for now....

Oh, I did leave the old washer in place, and will try hrader to remove it next time.