StromTrooper banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Alright folks, anyone have any tips for me or links to websites that explain step by step how to drain the fluid from the brakes, replace it, and bleed the air out of the brakes properly afterwards?
I've never done it before, literally not a clue how to do it, but I'm good at working with my hands and I learn fast, so I've no worries of doing it when instructed properly.
I bought a little plastic tube in a bike shop the other day too that apparently helps, but I'm not sure what it does. It has a valve on it, for the bleeding process, that's all I know of that.
Fluids getting low, any info on this would be appreciated folks......

Cheers,

Mick

·
Registered
5,458 Posts
Get a MityVac or the cheaper equivalent sold by Harbor Freight. They basically suck the old fluid out at the bleeder screw. All you have to do is remember to keep the reservoir constantly filled with fresh fluid as you suck out the old stuff so as not to introduce any air.

·
Registered
7,442 Posts
You don't have to bleed air out if you don't let any air in.

--Find some tubing or hose that fits snugly over the bleed nipple.
--Find a six-point socket that fits the bleed nipple. Break it loose, then snug it down. Use an end wrench from now on (or get a five-sided tubing wrench).
--Fit the tubing over the nipple and extend it into a catch pan.
--Remove the cover from the master cylinder.
--Loosen the bleed nipple and let fluid flow out by gravity.
--BEFORE the master cylinder fluid level gets to the bottom, refill with new DOT4 brake fluid.
--Continue until the fluid leaving the brake caliper is as clear as the new fluid.
--Tighten that bleed nipple firmly.
--Move to the bleed nipple on the other front caliper. Repeat.
--When done, fill the master cylinder to the full mark and replace the cover.
--Do the same thing on the rear.

·
Evolving Curmudgeon
1,119 Posts
You don't have to bleed air out if you don't let any air in.