StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Looks good. I plan on doing mine and ordered military green vinyl last week. I've never done it before and have some questions if you don't mind.

How happy are you with the outcome and the whole process?
Have you ever installed vinyl wrap before?
Were there any issues or problems, any pointers?
How hard was wrapping the tank?

·
Registered
105 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
notacop: I think I have about $100 in material.

jeb: I had never done it before. It took me several hours, probably 8, over two sessions. Of course there was considerable dis-assembly and re-assembly.
You correctly identified the hard part, the tank. I messed up and cut my piece a bit small, which created a problem of course. I ended up doing the tank in 3 pieces, and the seams are not perfect. Looks great from a few feet away, but not so much up close.
I was thinking I would do the tank with one piece, but now I am not sure it could be done, so I would do some research on how to best do seams. There are some videos on the net on installing this stuff.

·
Registered
105 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
I purchased the 3M material #1080 from metrorestyling.com
It comes in 5ft widths and if I remember correctly I got a 1 ft x 5 ft piece for each rear side panel, a 2 or 3 ft x 5ft piece for each side of fairing, and one similar sized piece for the tank. I just used a tape measure and ballparked it.
It does not go on wet, you just peel the backing away and it is very sticky but you can peel it up and re-position it.
I first removed the existing decals.

·
Registered
105 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
One other item of note: Although I like the new look, my wife said, "That was the only thing I liked about that motorcycle...the pretty blue color." Oops.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Professional Job?

Anyone had this done by a paint/body shop?
I like the idea, but I don't have the (skills/time/tools) to get it done on my own.