StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
108 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,
Chain issue on my 2005 Wee. I commute 84 miles a day, so I put miles on. My chain is noticeably loose and and appears to be “missing” on the chainring. Chainrings look good. I put the bike on the center stand and tightened the chain. I then spun the wheel backward (in neutral) and noticed that the chain would ride up out of the rear cogs each turn in one spot. (Picture below) I assume this is because of chain stretch? Am I correct?
Thank you!!!
JP
17BD9997-F9FF-4ED7-9C32-56B7A67CA363.jpeg

·
Premium Member
2,362 Posts
Sprocket looks wore out - chain likely needs replacement too.
Take a picture of the teeth on the sprocket

Reactions: JPTahoe

·
Registered
108 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Sorry for the misnaming, I used a bicycle term. Chainring = sprocket. I’ll try to get a photo of sprockets ASAP. They look good to me...but I’m pretty new to this on motorcycles. Thanks for jumping in to help folks!

·
Registered
832 Posts
Beyond loose, likely trashed. What's the front sprocket look like?

With a commute like that, a chain oiler will pay for itself quickly.

·
Registered
56 Posts
test chain wear by pulling off rear sprocket at 3 o'clock position (rear). if chain exposes teeth....shot.

·
Registered
108 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
Front sprocket photo above. So, if I need to replace front and rear sprockets and chain, recommendations?
thanks again!
JP

·
Administrator
18,295 Posts
Chains don't stretch, but sprockets wear........that's your problem, plus bad chain/sprocket alignment as well.

·
Registered
122 Posts
Agree about replacing the chain and sprockets. My thought is that if the chain is riding up off of the teeth at some point, there is (are) a link or links that have gotten dry and caused a tight spot. BTW, technically chains don’t “stretch”; the pins and rollers wear which causes the slack.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
919 Posts