StromTrooper banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
365 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Can someone give me some tips from experience on the V about force on chain when checking slack? I am not new to motorcycles or chain adjustment, but i am new to this bike. I have found each bike has a sweet spot. Following the manual, it doesn't specify whether to push down and up, just up, etc, or with how much force. My old bikes repair manual stated how much slack when hanging a weight. Not that i did that every time, but it was a starting point until i just knew it was right.

·
Registered
508 Posts
For the last 15 years (since I started riding again) I have always believed that the links were stronger than my fingers. On the side stand, not the the center stand, I push down with my left index finger until the chain dosen't move anymore. I press upward with the left thumb until the chain is tight.

For the Vee the specs say 20-30 mm slack, between 20 mm and 35 IMO is great.

·
Registered
365 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
i adjusted very similar to you, probably with not as much force as you, but moderate both ways. It just seems much tighter than other chains i have adjusted. It seems especially tight on the upper part of the chain. Does the V just like tighter chains? It is brand new, only 200 miles on the oem chain, well lubricated.

·
Registered
277 Posts
Moderate force is a good way to go. If you go out of spec, slightly too loose is better than slightly too tight. Using full force to measure slack can put you in the "too tight" range.

·
Registered
508 Posts
i adjusted very similar to you, probably with not as much force as you, but moderate both ways. It just seems much tighter than other chains i have adjusted. It seems especially tight on the upper part of the chain. Does the V just like tighter chains? It is brand new, only 200 miles on the oem chain, well lubricated.