StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Coming to a WeeStrom via a Road King Belt Drive and then a 2005 Concours Shaft Drive, I have no practical experience with chains. Anyone point me to an inclusive maintenance guide for my 09 ? Didn't get owners manual with the purchase.
Opinions on best lube for chain ?
How many miles should I expect from the OEM ? 5300 in place now.
Regards
Tom Maxey

·
Registered
2,361 Posts
There are long threads here about this. Lots of opinions. I have a RK with a belt also.

I do not clean my chain. But I started with a new chain and use Bel-Ray super clean chain lube. I lube the chain every 600 miles or after the bike is washed....(hardly ever), or after I get rained on...more likely and how I usually "wash" my bike.

Some wash chains, some have auto oilers, some ignore them almost entirely.

The thing to know about an O ring chain is the real lube (special grease) is inside the O rings and lubing is really done to perserve the o ring integrity. The grease inside the rings is meant for the life of the chain.

My last chain and sprocket set went 30,000 miles and I should have changed it around 25,000.

·
Premium Member
2,362 Posts
Chains are amazingly durable.

Just buy some stuff that is made for chains, and squirt some on every thousand kilometers or 600 miles. If I take great care, my chain lasts 22000 miles. If I am lazy and neglectful, it only lasts 22000 miles.

Does a chain waste energy? Yes, because everything wastes energy, but if a chain wasted as much energy as most people think it does, it would melt, and it would also melt the motorcycle. Chains are relatively efficient.

Your typical light bulb is about 30% efficient, making only heat from 70% of the energy you pay to shove through it. Chains transmit over 97% of the energy that the front sprocket receives.