StromTrooper banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
109 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,
I'm just wondering what most people use for bike to bike communications. As a ham radio operator, I have and would use 2m/70cm radio. One of the problems is that I don't know any hams who ride in my part of the world (Oregon). However, those that I know ride with B-B comm are using the Kenwood TK-3131 (a discontinued 1W radio at GMRS frequencies) I would like comm distances of 1-2 miles or more (just trying to be realistic with the "35 mile" FRS/GMRS radios). I haven't listened to CB radios for years, but my last experience was less than stellar. I don't like the idea of Bluetooth running at 2.4 GHz (Scala and others) right next to the head for extended rides (microwaves next to the head is probably not a good thing for the brain).

Anyone have any ideas that I haven't thought about?

By the way, at some point, I will probably route this through an AutoCom or StarCom1.

Thanks

·
Premium Member
8,025 Posts
I've used APRS on the bike, but never used repeaters. CB is popular with Harley and Wing owners. I know a bunch of Vstrom folks who uses FRS/GMRS in New England. Not sure who else uses it.

·
Registered
807 Posts
I just passed my Technician test on Saturday. :thumbup: Planning on getting something like a Kenwood f6a. Both of my Alaska ride buddies are HAMs, and one will modify the f6a to transmit on FRS/GMRS as well. Having the amateur bands will come in handy so we can use repeaters if separated.

I plan to hook it to a Starcom or Autocom.

·
Administrator
13,361 Posts
I use FRS/GMRS to communicate with my buddies when riding. We use channel 7 sub 14. (It woudl be nice if other riders used this so that eventually we have a common channel to use for riders.) The nice thing with FRS/GMRS is that you have many choices how to use them. I use Autocomm, a friend uses Starcom, my brother had used the Motorola earbud and mic (with soem success.)