StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Premium Member
4,451 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Met a couple of LEO's today. Nice young gentlemen who might have been a little hasty in their decision. Seems that my headlight modulator is illegal in their opinion. Showed them the material pertaining to modulators that was posted on Web Bike World with all the legalese numbers and subsections. No dice. No ticket either but now I have ten days to prove I am legal OR remove the modulator.
As everyone here knows, I am not the smartest computer operator here. So, if a computer savvy member would be so kind as to search out the Canadian laws and regulations concerning headlight modulators and post them I would be more than happy and relieved. If I am running illegally so be it but I will not be impressed with removing the modulators on two bikes. Many thanks in advance.

·
Registered
97 Posts
Ugh, I'm not a lawyer, so don't take this as fact.

But, the Motor Vehicle Act does say the same thing as what's listed over at Web Bike World.

http://www.tc.gc.ca/roadsafety/mvstm_tsd/tsd/1080rev3_e.htm#_Toc S7.9

However they even have a disclaimer at top of the page:

"Disclaimer

The documents in HTML format that are provided on this Web site have been prepared for use as a ready reference and do not have legal force or effect..."

You may have a good case to fight the ticket, but perhaps it may be worth taking out a membership in BCCOM and then asking them for assistance from their legal team. They love a good fight. Too bad some of the things they've fought for are a bit silly(tea cups for helmets)
http://www.bccom-bc.com/

Good luck with this. Keep us informed as to the final results.

Coffee again soon?

RG

·
Premium Member
4,451 Posts
Discussion Starter #4