StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
1,944 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
After fighting with a few stubborn tires and not having a 3rd hand I finally hit me why not get a foot valve and clip on air tire chuck.

Off to Amazon for a $17.99 FV320 foot valve and $3.49 HF for a clip on chuck.

All I can say is why did I wait so long to do this. Now I can clip-on the chuck hit the wawa pedal and work the bead with 2 free hands.

Attachments

·
Premium Member
4,175 Posts
This is for when the bead does not want to set I guess? Looks like it would be fairly heavy on the stem, just need to set it up right I suppose. Great idea.

I had trouble with a car tire once, stood it up and bounced it a few times and then it set OK.

·
Registered
3,148 Posts
When I fitted tires for a living we would remove the guts of the valve before trying to seat the bead.

For stubborn ones a ratchet strap around the tread would push the beads out to meet the rim and speed things up.

I now use the ratchet strap trick when fitting tubes, it gives me more room to move and easier to get the tube in place.

·
Registered
1,944 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I keep ratchet straps at the ready and from time to time have had to use them. I've also done the tire bounce to help splay out the bead so it'll seat. Standing the tire upright and pushing it down with your chest while trying to fill it with air rocking it back and forth to get the bead to start holding air. Standing the tire up and throwing you thigh on it and rolling forward/backwards while contorting your self to get the chuck on the valve stem. No mas!

·
Registered
744 Posts
When I fitted tires for a living we would remove the guts of the valve before trying to seat the bead.

For stubborn ones a ratchet strap around the tread would push the beads out to meet the rim and speed things up.

I now use the ratchet strap trick when fitting tubes, it gives me more room to move and easier to get the tube in place.