StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys and gals,
I am hoping to do my first adventure on my 2005 Wee. I am going to leave my home in Lake Tahoe (Northern California) and am now considering venturing up through Canada to Tuk. I am weighing this against the popular Alaska route to Prudhoe Bay (which I posted a discussion about previously) . I am a professional landscape and wildlife photographer, and have been told the journey through Canada to Tuk may be more photogenic and dramatic. One route suggested would take me through Prince George-Kitwanga-Hwy 37 to Alaska Hwy to Whitehorse- on to Klondike Hwy-Dempster Hwy to Tuk.
I value any input or suggestions. I am a relatively new rider, so want to stay on "safer" roads. Also would like to know if you feel that this trip is reasonable in June vs July. Is rain as much an issue as further west in Alaska? Will the northern part of the journey run into snow issues? Snow on the mountain tops will ad to my photos...
Finally, I am hoping to tie in to highlights of the journey such as: native peoples / culture, natural wonders, regional history, environmental issues, etc. Perhaps hoping to have a partial theme for this adventure.
I appreciate any insights, suggestions, resources for learning, etc. If I can make this trip happen, it will be quite the life experience.
Happy travels,
JP

·
Premium Member
2,792 Posts
I plan on riding to D2D in June (June 18/19)….Dawson City, Yukon. I was planning on taking the SE route from Whitehorse to Dawson, instead of thru Tok/Chicken.....will save that route when I am headed to Fairbanks after D2D. I have read two separate RR's where items were stolen off overnight parked bikes in Prince George. I believe there exist a drug problem in the city = folks stealing to support their habits. Just a Warning.

·
Premium Member
2,792 Posts